Default On Open Confusion

From Dwayne Wright - www.dwaynewright.com

A Reader Writes...
It used to be when I opened my FileMaker solution, I would be on the same record, layout and sort order that I was when I closed it. We recently upgraded are copies of FileMaker and the solution is hosted on a server. This seems to be broken now.

Dwayne Writes...
Yes, this illustrates a different behavior between local copies of a FileMaker solution and one hosted on a server. When a file is opened by the guest, you will normally be looking at the first records of all the records in the found set. It is possible to write a script that memorizes what record you were on and the found set and return to it via another script. Memorizing the sort order would be more challenging but it can be done. You would need to modify the files options to run the saving script on close and the restoring script on open.

Here you can see the file options dialog box (normally found under the File menu) that can execute a script on open or close of the solution.
=
More info about the author and FileMaker in general, contact me at info@dwaynewright.com.

© 2007 - Dwayne Wright - dwaynewright.com

The material on this document is offered AS IS. There is NO REPRESENTATION OR WARRANTY, expressed or implied, nor does any other contributor to this document. WARRANTIES OF MERCHANT ABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE EXPRESSLY DISCLAIMED. Consequential and incidental damages are expressly excluded. FileMaker Pro is the registered trademark of FileMaker Inc.