Selecting A FileMaker Portal Row To Delete It

From Dwayne Wright PMP, PMI-ACP, CSM
Certified FileMaker Developer

WEB: www.dwaynewright.com
EMAIL: info@dwaynewright.com
TWITTER: dwaynewright
YOUTUBE: FileMakerThoughts

The direct ability to delete portal rows needs to be turned on in the portal setup dialog box. When this is enabled, the user can select a portal row to highlight it, click the delete key on the keyboard and the related record is deleted.

Deleting information from a portal seems a bit dangerous, what if the user does this by accident? They could have thought they were in a single field and didn’t know they were deleting an entire portal row selection. They do get a confirmation dialog box from FileMaker about the delete and there is a cancel button there in clear view. However, in the heat of the data entry battle, sometimes we just don’t register what a dialog box is telling us. After a user deletes the related record, there is no undo command to bring it back.

All in all, if I allow a user to delete a portal row, I provide a button to do it. I tend to minimize the amount of open space in a portal in which a user can select an entire portal row. I will turn off the ability to delete portal rows in the portal setup dialog box but my delete button in the portal row runs a script that overrides that setting.

=
More info about the author and FileMaker in general, contact me at info@dwaynewright.com.

© 2007 - Dwayne Wright - dwaynewright.com

The material on this document is offered AS IS. There is NO REPRESENTATION OR WARRANTY, expressed or implied, nor does any other contributor to this document. WARRANTIES OF MERCHANT ABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE EXPRESSLY DISCLAIMED. Consequential and incidental damages are expressly excluded. FileMaker Pro is the registered trademark of FileMaker Inc.